You are not logged in.

#1 Monday 21st May 2018 17:04:20

Xelam

I think I’m ready to give up now

I’m a 25 year old teacher with two degrees, good money and a job I love. I’ve known my fair share of hard work, challenges, of coping with failure and springing back, but I have never felt as much as a failure as learning to drive, and I’m not sure if I can do it anymore.

I’ve failed five driving tests after almost 2 years of driving lessons. My theory test runs out in August and I think that will be the decider of whether or not I continue. I haven’t had a lesson in 3 months, and haven’t contacted my driving instructor since (who is fantastic btw, no fault of her).

It’s been two long years of the same cycle. I show up for a test, agonise over it for weeks, fail on one serious or dangerous, usually no or few minors, I feel gutted, go home and spend the next few months of people asking me if I’ve passed yet, why I haven’t passed, how much better I feel when I pass, how it will “open new worlds for me” (said in this condescending manner as if I don’t have a life because I am without a car) or how their 17 year old kid has already passed after only 2 months of driving.

I’m not exaggerating when I say everyone, I mean everyone, keeps asking. I recently bumped into an old family friend (I haven’t seen them since I was about 10) who asked me if I could drive yet. My next door neighbour speaks to me about nothing but my driving progress, endless work colleagues, family members, friends. Only a small amount of people won’t ask anything about it because they’re close enough to me to know it’s a sensitive topic.